WhatsApp launches its ‘View Once’ disappearing photos and videos
Photos and videos that are being shared using the ‘View Once’ feature will no longer be visible in the chat where they were sent once the recipient exits the media viewer. The media content will also not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery, and they can’t forward them through the app. Moreover, the photo or video sent using the feature will also expire from the chat if it’s not opened within 14 days.
Having said that, recipients can still take a screenshot of the ‘View Once’ photos or capture these videos by using the default screen recording feature. WhatsApp, thus, recommends users to only send photos and videos using the new feature to trusted individuals.
One of the use cases of the ‘View Once’ feature that WhatsApp has highlighted in a blog post is when users are sharing something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password that they don’t want to be stored on the recipient’s phone. You can also use the feature if you are sharing photos of something you’re checking at a store to get a quick reaction from the recipient.
WhatsApp is currently rolling out the feature to everyone starting this week. Make sure that you have the latest WhatsApp version on your phone to receive the new experience.